9 Racing



25 USAC Midwest Ford Focus Dates Announced

Speedway, Indiana (January 11, 2011) — The 2011 USAC Midwest Ford Focus Series, announced today, includes 14 paved and 11 dirt races, incorporating seven race tracks in Indiana, Michigan and Ohio.

Drivers will compete for points toward the 2011 USAC National Ford Focus Championship, as well as individual Midwest, pavement and dirt titles. A driver's best 12 finishes will count toward the National point tally for the prestigious Henry Ford Sweepstakes Trophy.

Joe Liguori (Midwest and dirt) and Jake Blackhurst (pavement) earned 2010 championships. The 2011 campaign kicks off April 15–16 at Gas City and Montpelier, Indiana, and continues through similar events on September 30 and October 1, at the same two tracks. In between, the Bryant Heating & Cooling Indianapolis Speedrome hosts eight events, while other venues include Kalamazoo Speedway in Michigan, Plymouth Speedway in Indiana, and Columbus Motor Speedway and Xenia's Kil-Kare Speedway in Ohio. The Plymouth race is 100 laps, in conjunction with USAC's "Little Hoosier Hundred" Mopar .25 Midget event at nearby Lakeville, Indiana.

"As in 2010, we expect competition in the Midwest Ford Focus Series to be intense," says USAC Developmental Racing Series Director James Spink. "In addition, the new format for determining our National champion will add excitement as the season progresses. One of USAC's 2011 Ford Focus drivers will earn a unique opportunity to drive a Steve Lewis Nine Racing Midget in 2012."

"Nine Racing is very pleased to be a part of this USAC Ford Focus program where the Ford Focus Champion will have the opportunity to test and race a Nine Racing midget at the Speedrome," added Steve Lewis, Nine Racing team owner. 


© Nine Racing, Inc. 2011